Problem with "first" example, cannot find port hi_aa in okHost module

Hello,

yup, total newbie here. I’ve tried my best to resolve this problem by searching the forums and reading all the READMEs and pdf documentation, but alas, I’m at a loss.

after running the first example simulation, I get the errors:

WARNING:HDLCompiler:267 - “First_tf.v” Line 27: Cannot find port button on this module
WARNING:HDLCompiler:267 - “First.v” Line 53: Cannot find port hi_aa on this module
ERROR:HDLCompiler:25 - “First_tf.v” Line 32: Module “First” does not have a port named “button”.
WARNING:HDLCompiler:1016 - “First_tf.v” Line 27: Port hi_aa is not connected to this instance
ERROR:Simulator:778 - Static elaboration of top level Verilog design unit(s) in library work failed

I’ve check the verilog files, and indeed there is no “hi_aa” port in the module okHost, nor is there a “button” port in the module First.

what am I doing wrong?

edited to add the following (probably) relevant info:
Windows 7, 32 bit
XEM 6010-LX45
Xilinx Webpack 13.1

thanks,
-mike.

Mike–

Did you pull the okLibrary.v from the correct folder in FrontPanelHDL ? (It should have come from XEM6010 if you’re using an XEM6010.)

Which version of FrontPanel do you have installed?

Hello,

yes I can confirm I copied the okLibrary.v file from the XEM6010 library.

I copied files from the following directories into my working project directory:

C:\Program Files\Opal Kelly\FrontPanelUSB\FrontPanelHDL\XEM6010 => project_dir
C:\Program Files\Opal Kelly\FrontPanelUSB\Simulation\Verilog => project_dir/oksim
C:\Program Files\Opal Kelly\FrontPanelUSB\Samples\First\XEM6010-Verilog => project_dir
C:\Program Files\Opal Kelly\FrontPanelUSB\Samples\First\Simulation-USB-Verilog => project_dir

I think I may of found my problem. There are multiple versions of “First.v”, and they have different ports. Which one should I use for the example tutorial?

I’m using FrontPanel 4.0.2

thanks!
-mike.

Mike–