Python Not Finding OK

I have created the .rbf for my ZEM5310 from the “First” source Code files provided by Opal Kelly.

Now I am trying to communicate via Python w/ my ZEM5310… but am having no luck. My terminal is working, but cannot get Serial Number, and it says “False” for dev.IsFrontPanelEnabled().

Is there something I am missing? I added the ok.py & ok.pyd to the site-packages directory for python.

Thanks,

Zack

(Sorry, I would have tried to upload a picture, but “New Users” cannot)

dev.GetDeviceCount()

returns “0”

But FrontPanel is working, and I can use the Provided FrontPanel profile to control the LED’s on the Opal Kelly…

Same thing here. Sometimes dev.GetDeviceCount() returns 1 though…

1 Like

Hmmm… I can’t get this work to for the life of me, you have any luck whatsoever?

So I am a newb.

I am using Python, and found out that you need to Close the Frontpanel GUI, and then Open the Device in a Python Console. Also, make sure your correct image is loaded onto the device, I am using the “First” provided, and had to compile it myself via Quartus. (Not Provided as a .bit or .sof/rbf by Opal Kelly)

Once I have the Sample “First” image loaded to the OK, I then make sure that no GUI of Frontpanel is running.

Open up a Python Terminal, and then do the following…

import ok //(Files provided need to be added to “site-packages”)
dev = ok.okCFrontPanel() //Creates a device handle
dev.GetDeviceCount(1) //Returns number of Opal Kellys connected to Host PC

serial = dev.GetDeviceListSerial(0) //saves device 0’s serial number into the ‘serial’ variable

dev.OpenBySerial(serial)

dev.IsOpen() //shows that device has successfully been opened
True

I am still having problems reading and writing to Pipes, Wires, Registers, etc… I will create a separate thread, but wanted to post what I have done thus far to see if it helps anyone else in the future who is new to this.

Thanks!

A few things to note here.