Logic Analyzer project

Hello,

I have experience with microcontrollers, embedded systems and such but I am still fairly new to the world of FPGAs. I would like to start working on a prototype for a custom logic analyzer and the XEM6310 looks like a good candidate, however I am unable to confirm that I can accomplish what I have in mind. Maybe someone can tell me if it is feasible so I can proceed to buy the product and start learning on it.

Basically, I want my logic analyzer to have at least 30 channels, which shouldn’t be a problem, but I want to be able to use a computer to interpret the data in real time. So what I think that implies is that I would somehow transfer the data to RAM which would serve as a buffer for the data to be sent to the computer hoping it keeps up and that the buffer doesn’t get filled.

Having worked with logic analyzers that operate in a similar fashion, I don’t think it would be a problem, however, every commercial option out there lacks in speed, inputs or customization options. Opal Kelly products look absolutely amazing and I know that logic analyzers have been built with them before, unfortunately their design are quite different from what I have in mind.

Thank you for your time.

On a side note, I was also wondering if the BRK6110 is still the right breakout board for the XEM6310 and if there is a way to use USB as a power source instead of an external power supply, given I don’t exceed the maximum current ratings for USB.

You can use the PC to manage the data in real time if you’re streaming it to the PC. Of course, you will lose some performance because you’ll be limited by the streaming rate back to the PC. The FPGA could capture 30 channels much faster than it could stream it back. You could use some hybrid approaches to do some processing in the FPGA and some on the PC – essentially reducing the information sent over USB.